Mediterranean migrant arrivals reach 19,653, Deaths: 525

14/3/17 Geneva - IOM reports that 19,653 migrants, including refugees, entered Europe by sea in 2017 through 14 March, over 80 percent arriving in Italy and the rest in Spain and Greece. This compares with 152,701 through the first 73 days of 2016.

Missing Migrants Project reports that the number of Mediterranean deaths – 525 – exceed by 43 the total of 482 reported during the same period in 2016.

On Monday, Kelly Namia of IOM Athens reported that 2,810 migrants, including refugees, have entered Europe by sea through Greece since the start of 2017, compared with 143,205 through this date in 2016. She reported one incident on Saturday (11/3) off Chios, where the Greek Coast Guard rescued 58 migrants.

Also on Monday Christine Petré of IOM Libya wrote that IOM’s team continues to sift through reports of violence against migrants across Libya’s coastal region. On Saturday (11/3), one body was retrieved in Subratah, bringing the total number of bodies recovered off Libya since 1 January to 148.

Deaths of migrants, including refugees: 1 January 2016 - 14 March 2016 vs. 1 January - 12 March 2017

Region

2017

2016

Mediterranean

525

482

Europe

13

15

Middle East

10

32

North Africa

47

392

Horn of Africa

0

84

Sub-Saharan Africa

0

23

Southeast Asia

44

35

East Asia

0

0

US/Mexico

60

47

Central America

8

16

Caribbean

81

29

South America

0

10

Total 

788

1,165

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic:
http://migration.iom.int/docs/MMP/170314_Mediterranean_Update.pdf

For latest arrivals data in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe

For further information please contact:
Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41.79.103 8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int
Sabine Schneider at IOM Germany, Tel. +49 30 278 778 17 Email: sschneider@iom.int
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email: iomathens@iom.int
or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
Abby Dwommoh, IOM Turkey, Tel. (Direct): +90 (0)312 454 3048, Mobile: +90 (533) 698 7285, Email: adwommoh@iom.int, or Mazen Aboulhosn, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: maboulhosn@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Christine Petré, Tel. (Direct):  +216 29 240 448, Email: chpetre@iom.int
Hicham Hasnaoui at IOM Morocco, Tel: + 212 5 37 65 28 81, Email: hhasnaoui@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

Regions in focus

Publications

 

https://www.iom.int            https://gmdac.iom.int/            https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-international-development

 

Missing Migrants Project by International Organization for Migration (IOM) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. This means that Missing Migrants Project website content is free to share and adapt, as long as the appropriate attribution is given. Missing Migrants Project is made possible by funding by UK Aid from the Government of the United Kingdom; however, the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the Government of the United Kingdom’s official policies.