Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 328,225; Deaths at Sea: 3,671

IOM reports that 328,225 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 23 October, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy. Some 169,302 people have arrived in Greece and 153,450 in Italy during 2016. The total is well below the number of arrivals at this point in 2015, by which nearly 690,000 migrants and refugees had made the journey.

 

Total arrivals by sea and deaths in the Mediterranean 2015-2016

 

1 January – 23 October 2016

1 January – 23 October 2015

Country of Arrival

Arrivals

Deaths

Arrivals

Deaths

Italy

153,450

3,195

(Central Med. route)

139,594

Italy: 2,811   Greece: 335           Spain: 29

Greece

169,302

414

(Eastern Med. route)

545,752

Cyprus

28

 

Spain

5,445

(as of 30 September)

62

(Western Med route)

3,845

Estimated Total

328,225

3,671

689,191

3,175

 

An estimated 3,671 people have died trying to make the crossing in 2016. These include 17 bodies recovered in the Channel of Sicily between Friday and Sunday, which are expected to be brought ashore today. The cause of death is unknown.  Over 6,700 migrants have been rescued in the Channel of Sicily since IOM’s last report on Friday (21/10).

The death toll does not include victims from an attack off Libya that media reports say may have caused as many as 25 people to drown. IOM Libya continues to seek information about that alleged attack.

Deaths in 2015 through 23 October stood at 3,175 - nearly 25 percent of those from a single shipwreck in April. Last week, Italian Commissioner for Missing Persons Vittorio Piscitelli put the death toll of that shipwreck at between 750-800 people, confirming survivors' initial estimates. Two-thirds of the dead were men between the ages of 20 and 30 and one-third were adolescents aged 15-17. There was one child, a 7-year-old boy. The vast majority of the victims were from West Africa.

 

 

For further information please contact:

Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 

IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email:  iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 

Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int

Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: aboulhosn@iom.int

Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41.79.103-8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int or Daniel Szabo, Tel: +41.76.768.77.03, Email: dszabo@iom.int

IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int

Christine Beshay, IOM Egypt. Tel: + 20 2 273 651 40/1 Email: cbeshay@iom.int

 

Regions in focus

Publications

 

https://www.iom.int            https://gmdac.iom.int/            https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-international-development

 

Missing Migrants Project by International Organization for Migration (IOM) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. This means that Missing Migrants Project website content is free to share and adapt, as long as the appropriate attribution is given. Missing Migrants Project is made possible by funding by UK Aid from the Government of the United Kingdom; however, the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the Government of the United Kingdom’s official policies.